My cousin the artist

So, I have this cousin, Jim Shaw,.  When we were kids, we both liked comics and Famous Monsters of Filmland.  We even made a short stop-motion super-8 film once, using Jim’s models,.  Then we grew up.  I became a fantasy and horror author, while Jim took off as an artist.  But just as my writing often reflects the popular culture of my childhood, Jim incorporates a lot of popular culture into his art.  Not that you could ever see much of his stuff unless you hit the New York Galleries.  Until now.  Starting today, MassMoCa is opening the most extensive exhibit of Jim’s work ever, out at their gallery in North Adams, MA.  I’m going out this afternoon to attend the official opening.  I’ll report back here on just what I see. Jim Shaw at Mass MoCa

Leave a Reply

