Pandemonium, my home away from home

Pandemonium Books and Games and I go back a long way. I used to manage the store that became Pandemonium, way back when it was called the Science Fantasy Bookstore. Later, when current owner Tyler Stewart took over the store, I helped out in various capacities, including using my car for book buying runs to local distributors. Later still. when my fellow author Jeffrey Carver and I decided to run a Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing Workshop, we used Pandemonium as our home base, and held the classes in the basement back room.

Now I’m involved in three (count them –3!) events in little more than a month. The first of the three I simply attended; it was a reading and signing for an anthology written and edited by our SF workshop’s former students (that’s the picture of the cover you see accompanying this post.) Not only is the cover way keen, the art and design done by one of the students (the student happens to be named Chris Howard), but the contents are quite good as well. The stories range all over the sf and fantasy spectrum, and I found them to be a particularly entertaining mix. All profits from the book go to the SFWA Hardship Fund, I believe. And I wrote the funny and charming introduction (while Jeff Carver wrote the even more erudite afterword.) I predict you’ll be seeing these writers a lot in the near future (It’s an easy prediction. They’ve already made a number of short story and novel sales.) And you can buy the book on Amazon!

Next up, MISTER OCTOBER. This coming Thursday, October 17, I’ll be appearing at Pandemonium in my horror writer guise. (For those who only know me from my fantasy, I’ve also written a number of horror short stories and even a horror novel or two.) And a bunch of local horror writers, including Christopher Golden, who organized this whole project, will be reading and signing at the store.

MISTER OCTOBER is a horror anthology in honor of Rick Hautula, a fine writer and good friend who passed away unexpectedly a few months back. The book is so large it had to be broken up into two volumes, and features an all-star line-up of contributors, including folks like Clive Barker and Neil Gaiman. It’s available as a limited edition, hardcover, and paperback. And all profits from the book will go to Rick’s family. So why not come down to the bookstore (it’s located in Central Square, Cambridge, right next to the post office.) and hear us read a couple of spooky stories in honor of Rick?

My third Pandemonium appearance is one I’ve already mentioned; a special “best of” edition of the Kirk Polland Memorial Bad Prose Competition (What’s that? Ask anyone who’s ever attended Readercon.) It will be happening on Sunday afternoon, November 3, I believe, probably in the late afternoon. Do I have final confirmation of the exact time on this? No! Is it one of many cool things happening as a part of Pandemonium’s Geek\
Week? Yes. Will I have more specific information on this soon? I certainly hope so!

This is one cool cover, huh?

This is one cool cover, huh?

Leave a Reply

